

Oshawa Historical Society Managing the Oshawa Museum

2024 Nominating Report

Re: Nominations for the 2024-2025 Board of Directors

Background

The Constitution and Bylaws of the Oshawa Historical Society allows for 9 members on the Board of Directors. These members shall be elected by the membership at each Annual General Meeting. It is the role of the Human Resources Committee to seek candidates for the Board.

At the May 2023 Annual General Meeting, a slate of 6 candidates were elected. On June 13, 2023, Marshall Mayne was appointed to the Board of Directors.

As of April 25, 2024, 7 Board positions were filled, with 2 seats vacant.

Margaret Wilkinson has indicated that she will not be standing for election in 2024.

For the 2024-2025 term, 6 of the current members – Marshall Mayne, Helen Haines, Doug Lavis, Mike Leonard, Chris Locke, and David Tonkin – have indicated they will stand. Their agreement to continue serving on the Board is appreciated and they are recommended for next year. Due to the number of candidates nominated, an election at the Annual General Meeting is not required and those named shall be considered elected by acclamation.

Proposed Motion for the Annual General Meeting:

To approve the 2024 Nominating Report recommendation that the following candidates be elected by acclamation to the Board for the 2024-2025 term: Marshall Mayne, Helen Haines, Doug Lavis, Mike Leonard, Chris Locke, David Tonkin.

Submitted by Chris Locke.

This report was reviewed by the Oshawa Historical Society Board of Directors on April 25, 2024. Motion to accept the report was moved by Michael Leonard, seconded by Helen Haines. Motion carried.